Close
#

ST-900-BD Big Dog Deluxe Remote Trainer

See Product Details

10 Customer Reviews

94% 100% 10
Overall
%
(10)
#
Ratings Breakdown
10 reviews
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Add your ST-900-BD Big Dog Deluxe Remote Trainer review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Sort by:
Rating
%
ENGLISH > Superb training aid 01/08/2017
by Sarah Brown

Excellent product, effective and very reliable. I previously owned the PAC system which was FOREVER losing the connection to the collars and eventually went in the bin. Easy to programme, easy to use. As I live in a livestock area we needed our dogs safe off lead around sheep/goats and this has worked quickly and effectively. The collar can be set to the level the dog responds to and no more, the tone/beep has been used for recall training with treats and overall our quality of life and the dogs has improved immeasurably. Used correctly and sparingly this is not at all cruel and so much better than yelling your head off and being ignored. The UNEXPECTED bonus from this is that the dogs are so much more responsive to simple voice command, because they now know there is something to back it up. A simple yell of 'NO' or 'LEAVE' can now stop them in their tracks without even touching the handset.

One major issue is that the contact points for charging are so very tiny that after a few years they get worn or broken so the collars no longer charge. Please consider changing this to make the contact points a lot more robust.

> PetSafe Response: Hi Sarah, thanks so much for your review and comments about the Big Dog Deluxe Remote Trainer. It's super to hear that your dogs are so responsive to it and that they even listen so much quicker to simple voice commands. We love hearing that the quality of life for both your dogs and you has improved. We will take your point into consideration for future design of our product. Thanks again.


Rating
%
ENGLISH > Excellent product 06/04/2017
by Paul Ricketts

We had all but given up hope with our 2.5 year old Korthals Griffon and it was looking like a lifetime of walks on the lead. Having already been down the dog training route, our beautiful HPR was becoming a liability, not responding to recall and disappearing into the hedgerow and woodland for long spells. We started using the PetSafe ST-900-BD about 2 months ago and the changes in our dogs behaviour have been outstanding. She now runs freely off the lead, responds to whistle every time and has completely stopped the disappearing out of site behaviour. We have only used the static stimulation a couple of times, the tone is often enough to gain the dogs attention but to be honest it is now just used as a safety device. Our dog had started displaying some aggressive behaviour with some smaller breeds whilst she was on the lead, this behaviour has also stopped. If you have a stubborn/intelligent dog and you have tried other training methods without success I can’t recommend this product enough. Our dogs quality of life has improved due to this collar and we can now enjoy walks without the worries. Customer service from PetSafe has also been excellent.

> PetSafe Response: Hi Paul, it's fantastic that your young Korthals Griffon is responding so well to the product and that she can now run freely without disappearing! It's also great that you don't have to use the stimulation very often, it sounds like your dog has learned very quickly! Thank you for recommending the product and for the feedback on our customer service :)


Rating
%
ENGLISH > Excellent after sales 10/02/2017
by Sean O'Callaghan

Firstly I received excellent after sales support after I reported my system had a fault with it delivering a high static surge on occasion even on low levels. Both the shop where I purchased the equipment (Petworld in Letterkenny) and Petsafe themselves contacted me after I reported the problem and Petsafe immediately sent out a replacement receiver collar. I suppose when your supplying quality equipment you don't get many complaints and can then put great effort into helping those few that do have problems. Five stars for service guys.
As for the collar itself I am having problems getting it to make contact with the skin of my Long Haired German Shepard even with the long probes (which are not supplied as an option with the system unusually) I may now need to shave his hair or wait until his lighter summer coat arrives. Either way I will use the time to continue to teach him my commands until I can reinforce them with the system.

> PetSafe Response: Thank you Sean for your excellent review. We're happy to hear that you received good after-sales support. We recommend to brush the undercoat of your dog really well in order for the prongs to make contact with the skin of your long haired German Shepard. You can also try to cut back the hair in the area where the prongs touch the skin, especially if the coat is really long. In the meantime, we will drop you an e-mail to advise you further and help you with the continued training of your dog. Thanks again for your comments Sean.


Rating
%
ENGLISH > Mixed results 14/01/2017
by David Court

We have 2 of these for our spaniels and until today they worked well. One dog however came back without is collar on and now we have lost it having looked for an hour with a fairly hefty price tag for replacement. Can anyone tell me (as I have mislaid the instructions is there) is there a lost mode / button which, if you press, emits an alarm? If so could you let me know how to set it off please. If not then can I suggest it is an important upgrade that is needed when the next redesign goes in. If you have active dogs would be essential.

> PetSafe Response: Hi David, we're glad the trainer has worked well for your Spaniels, thanks for your feedback. It's unfortunate that one has come back without the collar and I'm afraid it doesn't have a 'lost collar' feature (but this is a great idea!) We'll contact you directly soon. Thanks again.


Rating
%
DEUTSCH > Super Service 18/08/2016
by Martina Seeberger

Ich habe den Ferntrainer jetzt bereits seit Jahren für meine Hunde. Sie können damit ohne Leine durch den Wald laufen ohne ihrem Jagdtrieb nachzugehen. Ich schreibe selten Rezensionen. Möchte hier aber mal ausdrücklich den Service des Anbieters loben. Jedes mal wenn ich angerufen habe, wurde mir so schnell und kompetent geholfen. Auch habe ich schon auf Garantie schnell und unkompliziert Ersatz geschickt bekommen. Selten so eine super Kundenbetreung erlebt.

> PetSafe Reaktion: Sehr geehrte Frau Seeberger, Es ist schön zu lesen daß Sie mit dem Trainer Ihren Hund mehr Freiheit gewähren können, aber Ihn doch gut unter Kontrolle halten können, sogar auf größere Distanz. Wir danken auch für die lobenden Worte insachen unseren Kundenservice, wo der Kunde noch an erster Stelle steht. Wir wünschen noch lange gute Nutzung Ihres Trainers, und unser Kundendienst steht natürlich weiter zu Ihrer Verfügung.


Rating
%
ENGLISH > It's never too late! 17/04/2016
by Joyce

When we got our American Bully puppy, we did not expect him to grow heavier than 75 lbs, flash forward, at 8 months he crossed 100lbs, he gets excited when he sees other dogs and has the tendency to lunge, which means he drags whoever is taking him out for a walk. He also has a selective hearing problem, but with a beep he now turns right around and looks at you. We've had it for 1 month now and the difference is AMAZING! We can now even take him out for a walk off the leash! People who know him are impressed with the changes. We love the Trainer

> PetSafe Response: Hi Joyce, I'm really glad that you were able to get your pet back under control again, and that our trainer had an important part in that. I hope that you will be able to enjoy him for a long time to come. Thank you for taking the time to let us know!


Rating
%
ENGLISH > Absolute satisfaction 30/03/2016
by David Atkinson

I have two dogs, a Boxer bitch and Golden Retriever dog. I live in the country surrounded by farms and a lot of sheep. I am fortunate that there is a huge amount of space for my dogs to play but this has its drawbacks as given the nature of my two dogs they like to roam. I purchased the deluxe big dog trainer in the hope that I could stop them roaming onto sheep farms where dogs had been shot in the past and consequently my two had been very restricted and never taken out unless on leads.
The trainer was the best thing ever - within a week both dogs were under control and I had immediate response to the buzzer to call them back when let free! Gone were the hours spent in the dark wet nights of winter roaming fields searching for them when they managed to "escape". Now I can open the door, let them out and they stay close to the house - one click of the buzzer has them racing back tails wagging showing me how good they are and looking for their treat. Recently the transmitter failed and for a while all was well without it, the dogs went out to play came back of their own accord or responded to my whistle but recently they have become more determined to take their own time and have slowly extended their perimeters but still come when called albeit reluctantly.
I contacted petsafe to inform them of transmitter failure and after a brief conversation and confirmation of date of purchase I was told a new transmitter would be in the post, no quibble no hoops to jump through like so many other companies all done easily and without stress. Petsafe should have awards for product quality and customer service I only wish more companies had their customer approach and helpfulness.

I expect the transmitter to be delivered any day now I have had to wait a little while, probably due to Easter holidays.

> PetSafe Response: Hi David, thank you for sharing your story with us and how the Big Dog Remote Trainer has helped to transform both your dogs' behaviour. We loved reading your experience, and that your dogs are safer now from roaming into fields that could pose a danger. We hope you continue to enjoy using this. Anything else you need, just let us know :)


Rating
%
ENGLISH > Excellent product. 14/10/2015
by Brendan Major

I bought this trainer device about 5 years ago to help me manage our very headstrong Irish Red and White Setter who loved to range far on open country and had poor recall. It worked beautifully and she quickly learnt to ignore livestock and come on command - now she has excellent recall on call, whistle or on the collar's tone. I am having to re-order now only because (a) I just lost the collar when on holiday, and (b) the dog misses the collar as she now associates it with her going for a walk.

I also had excellent service from the company when I though the device wasn't working and I was very patiently talked through the set-up routine.

> PetSafe Response: Hi Brendan, thanks for sharing your experience with us we do value feedback. It's interesting that your dog misses her collar and it sounds like she's been really well trained too. Thanks again!


Rating
%
ENGLISH > Control for head strong Spinones 03/08/2015
by Julie

This trainer is a valuable tool for our 2 very head strong Spinones. They have adapted very well to the trainer and mainly respond to the sonic bleep. We have complete peace of mind when out. They enjoy exercising off lead and as we live in a very rural area we have control when around livestock thus allowing both ourselves and the girls to enjoy lovely long walks responsibly. The customer service was second to none absolutely fabulous when we had an issue, they replaced to product immediately and communicated very well. A very big thank you to all involved.

> PetSafe Response: Hi Julie, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Great to hear that our Customer Service team were able to help when you had an issue, and that your Spinones are adapting well to this training tool.


Rating
%
ENGLISH > freedom to run 17/07/2015
by roz gage

Used sensibly this transformed my very bouncy golden retriever, to a very well behaved dog. She enjoys the freedom of walks off lead so she can run off her energy and I have the peace of mind that she will not chase a dear and get killed on the road. At first she needed a reminder from the collar but now she only needs a bleep tone and does every thing she is told. If the collar keeps her happy and alive it must be five star rated.

> PetSafe Response: Hey Roz, that's a fantastic story and thank you for sharing with us. We love to hear when our products really do keep your pet safe and in this case your golden retriever is such an inspiration :)