Close
#

Microchip Cat Flap

See Product Details

10 Customer Reviews

60% 100% 10
Overall
%
(10)
#
Ratings Breakdown
10 reviews
5 star
1
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
2

Add your Microchip Cat Flap review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Sort by:
Rating
%
Doesn’t work 12/01/2019
by Emily

Bought just before Christmas. Took a while for my cat to get used to the clicking sounds so he could go in and out. For whatever reason, when on the two way system, it locks so only our cat can get out but isn’t locking from the outside so any cat can get in and is then stuck. Yet it locks it we have the out only option on, Having issues with the same cat and I just don’t understand why it isn’t locking on the outside.

Dear Emily,
Sorry to see there seem to be some problems with your Microchip Catflap.
To be able to best help you, please contact our Customer Care, either by sending us an e-mail to customerhelp@petsafe.net or calling to 0 800 046 1414 (UK), 1 800 81 43 02 (ROI) or 00800 1818 2020 (EU).
PetSafe Customer Care


Rating
%
cats can get in 10/07/2018
by Maurice Clark

We are having some problems with a male cat in street so we bought the Microchip Flap
After fitting we have trouble getting our cat to use it. But the problem cat is clever and knows how to get in
He puts claws into the plastic pulls it and sticks his head under it and he s in Last week he got in when I was

out went upstairs to our bedroom and attacked my wife who now has bite and deep scratch marks
so our problem still exists after spending £85 to stop it


Yours Not Happy
M.Clark


Rating
%
Good for 2/3 30/05/2018
by Lauren Woodgate

Bought this flap from our local pets at home store - it works amazing for two of our three cats, but one cat (typically the one who goes out the most) it doesn’t pick up until she’s really having a fight with the flap or practically her whole body is in the tiny bit of tunnel.
It seems her microchip (which was fitted a week ago) May be further down her back than the others ? Annoying to say the least !!
I Would return if it didn’t work so well with the other two.
So, all in all a good flap but not good if the chip was inserted (or has travelled further than range)


Rating
%
Happy cat 13/05/2018
by Lyn

Didn't work at first as our P.V.C door had a metal skin. Installed the adaptor plate and, bingo, the flap worked fine. We have a very happy


Rating
%
So far, so good 13/05/2018
by Lyn Brockway

Took a while to fit, didn't work at first as we realised there was a metal skin in our PVC door. However, now we have fitted the adaptor, it works very well.
I have given only 4 stars, as it is early days, but as long as the batteries don't die when we're on holiday, I think it is brilliant....so does the cat


Rating
%
Not happy 23/03/2018
by Tony

I tested this with my cat before I fitted it and all seemed well.
After taking what seemed like ages to fit it I now find that it will not open!
It lights up green which means it recognises a microchip is nearby but it simply will not unlock the catches.
£85 for nothing but hassle.


PetSafe response:
Thank you for your review of our Microchip Cat Flap, Tony. We are sorry to hear that the flap will not unlock for your cat. The issue may be metal interference especially when it was working fine away from the door. For that you would need an installation adaptor. Please also ensure to use good quality batteries and try taking them out and wait 30 minutes before reinserting them again so the flap can recalibrate. We have reached out to you to help you further so your flap will work fine in future. Thank you again for your comments.


Rating
%
ENGLISH > Inferior to other similar products on the market. 12/02/2018
by Andrew Verden

Bought this to keep other cats out of the house. The read range of this product is only 100- 120mm so if your cats microchip has migrated slightly or is further than 120 mm from the flap , it won't open the door. Petsafe were very helpful until I suggested that they refunded me for it suffering a basic design flaw. Then they ignored me. There are better products on the market.

> PetSafe response:
Thank you for your review of the microchip cat flap. We are sorry to hear the read range is too short for your cat to be recognised. Metal in the door can also cause problems for the chip to be recognised and we recommend to use an installation adaptor in these cases as well as good quality batteries such as Duracell ultra. We advise going back directly to the seller for a refund. We have contacted you to see if there is anything we can help you with. Thank you again for your comments which we will pass on to our product engineers.


Rating
%
ENGLISH > Noisy chip reader 11/02/2018
by Heather

For nearly 7 years we owned the cat flap that operated by plug-in and the 3 cats happily used that, now we have had to replace it and apparently this supercedes our previous one - but at the moment they wont use it because of the loud clicking when the chip is read and there is no way to turn the sound off! Wondering if this was ever tested on real scaredy cats as ours are.

PetSafe response:
Thank you for your comments on our microchip catflap, Heather. We are sorry to hear that the clicking of the 2 locks scares your cats. The clicking should only come from the locks going down and then going up again when your cats' chips are recognised. Unfortunately, this clicking cannot be turned off. We hope your cats get used to the sound and will soon have no problem in using the flap. The product was tested on cats. We appreciate your comments on how your cats react to the clicking and we will pass your concerns on to our product engineers.


Rating
%
FRANÇAIS > Super 27/11/2017
by Julien Chevalot

J'avais pas vue que en plus tu dotais tes chat d'une puce tu peut donc priver certains chats de sortir si besoin GENIAL


Rating
%
FRANÇAIS > chatière 27/11/2017
by Julien Chevalot

sa me semble super comme chatières j'adopte vonlontié